GreaseSpot Cafe

And this is leadership training?

OldSkool

One of the biggest shockers for me when I was in-residence way corps was the total lack of leadership training. IRWC has been touted as the greatest leadership training in the whole world.

I was a paid manager / leader before going into the way corps. So you can imagine my surprise when management / leadership skills were not taught. Of course they had us read several Dale Carnegie books, but let's get real - I could have read those on my own.

Lacking from the program was:

- scope (understanding the big picture)

- resource management

- time management

- milestones / deadlines

I kept the categories succinct but under each listed much could be expounded.

And the way corps like to sneer at "non-corps", as quoted from a post Oakspear made earlier.

Then he looks at me, a lifetime manager in various fields who was paid to manage, administrate and lead people toward goals and objectves and drew a blank...because he couldn't imagine how I, a lowly non-Corps person, could possibly have any leadership skills.

There was much more lacking but I have made the point well enough, hopefully.

• Upvote 1

Old School - - ya know - - IF they wanted to become a class-A organization they would have taught at least some of the things you suggested. It seems it was easier to lead by throwing your weight around. In the end, IMHO that was the single thing that brought them down. Just magnify "throw your weight around" and extrapolate and you find the source of every single rape...and marriage destruction.

I have no doubt that most of those who went corps desires to serve bigger and better than they could otherwise. I really believe this is true. But I think there were some who saw a way to get through life on the backs of others and those are the ones many of us remember just because of the hurt they caused and the bad taste they left in our mouths.