GreaseSpot Cafe

Thomas Loy Bumgarner

Thomas Loy Bumgarner

Yes, that's my real name. I was involved with The Way from August 1973 when Virginia"Ginger"

Douglass(now Ott) spoke to me while I was watching the animated Star Trek cartoon in the Student lounge @ ECU where I was a freshman who invited me back to The Way Home there in Greenville,NC, but being a genlteman and proably a fool not to persue her sexually, I later learned about a coffeehouse which I erroneously thought was a dance club and got to meet Doug Emerson. I later took the PFAL class while a student at ASU in Boone, but was during the summer and held in Lenoir where I lived with my parents, my father being a Lutheran pastor. To make the story short, I went NCWOW in

1976 meeting Patricia Fetner from Sanford whom

I had a major crush love-wise and might have in another situation married. After ROA 1979, I returned home only in less than a month had 10%

collapsed left lung and was hospitalized for 3

days with no visitors, letters, or phone calls

from anyone in TWI about my health (maybe revelation manifestations weren't working that day), yet many denominational clergy stopped by to visit me , who were my father's colleagues in

Lenoir. In December that same year, I wrote a letter to the editor of The Charlotte Observer

about an op-ed piece about TWI(which was negative), so I tried to defend them, but got severally reprimanded by the Limb leader saying

HQ did not need this sought of attention, so I freely left, although in 1985 while living in

Burlington, NC I was informed Of Victor Paul Wierwille's death(passing away/falling asleep).

Only in the last year have I tried to find out

what has happened and unfortunately, it has turned out to be a nightmare far worse than I ever knew. I returned to college, finishing up at Lenoir-Rhyne College for a BA in music in 1982, and more recently for a 2 year Sacred Music certificate program on liturgy, hymnody,