GreaseSpot Cafe

Brit for a bit

MATILDA

Fall 1973...finally a worthwhile student, but oops...can't seem to balance university classes and all things TWI.

Even tho I had As going in all my classes at the long-standing catholic university, I (in my infinite wisdom..lol)elected NOT to take any of my finals and consequently flunked out. Yikes-o-rama! Now what?

My butt surely would be in a sling once the grades arrived to my folks' home...hmmm...at least I could get a job before the post arrived in time to really put a damper on that Christmas.

"Yes, I flunked out, BUT I got a job!" was my rationale. (lolololol since I am a former college teacher and mom of college kids)

I made an appointment at a very respected employment agency in downtown Chicago. I interviewed with my designated "rep," took typing tests and filled out questionaires, applications, and assessment things. For what? To be sent out, repeatedly, as a secretary, receptionist, and general office serf. Did not they know whom be I was? lololol

My job became finding a job...the endless interview. I wasn't gonna sign on anywhere til I gots proper dough offered.......lol....such righteousness.

After a week, I was a known commodity in the employment agency, trusted, and an amusing character in search of a paycheck. Strangely enuf, with christmas time upon them, they hired me one day to reception their joint whilst they went about high-rise office party hopping.

No problem. Sat in a big chair...very little bizness...but I did have opportunity to browse thru the listings to see what kind of jobs were really in there that I thought I could do. (lol...this is a true story.) I sent a couple people out to jobs they never would have been sent out for and, (I was told later) one got the position. lol.

Well, I was the proverbial "raw talent" find, but no bona fide deegreeds to substantiate me, so I could see why I was relegated to clerkage and coffeemaker opportunities. But, wait...what's this?