GreaseSpot Cafe

imagine that

shiftthis

up until about two years ago i had always told all my friends i didnt need a computer , had absolutly no use for one , then went looking for a real cheap new computer , bought a compaq for $399 got a 100 dollar rebate ,used it for a year ,than decided i wanted a faster one with more stuff, looked around, didint find what i wanted, i am an electrician, have my own pa for my band, build hot rod cars, got to thinking(ouch my head) , reasearched different computer components on the web to find out what was right for me ,went to frys electronics store (why would someone name an electronics store frys ??!!! thats like that company named fried that makes speakers. do you sell fried speakers????!!!! fried electronics!!!) got some stuff and build this super fast computer. than built a duplicate, than built a smaller one, none of them are fried yet, imagine that !!!!

Fry's Electronics is named after the owner, last name of Fry. :) The chain is in the western states only as far as I know. For those that haven't heard of it, Fry's is the WalMart for computer geeks. You can find just about anything you want there at their b and m stores as well as their online stores at www.outpost.com and www.frys.com which both have some great deals. I bought my RAM from outpost.com when I built my computer this past month, but the rest of the components I bought from other online companies to get more savings.

You said you built a fast computer, but gave no stats. For the geeks of the cafe, can you give us an idea what sort of system you are running? Thanks. I've been building my own and maintaining a home network for 10 years now and would never consider a store bought box.

I'm running this:

Asus M2A-VM motherboard

AMD 3 gHz dual core CPU

2 gig DDR2 800 mHz RAM

500 gig SATA hard drive

Radeon 3870 512 mb PCI express x16 video card

Logitech G51 Surround Sound 5.1 Sound System

Encore TV Tuner and FM radio PCI Adapter card with Remote