GreaseSpot Cafe

Consulting Business

herbiejuan

Several reasonably sane folks have suggested starting an environmental consultation business. Since one is a planner with 25 yrs experience, another an ag professional and yet another is a University research Dr type I'm guessing this idea has merit.

I've never done something like this before (not that THAT has ever stopped me) but seeings how I am designing an ag school and never done that before either, the idea intrigues me icon_smile.gif:)-->

I'm hoping a few of you who've worked as consultants or set up a consultancy could enlighten me on this for I am once again stepping out into the void icon_eek.gificon_biggrin.gif:D-->

The school (for those interested) will be a part of our local technical college. We are looking at 300 acres and have been offered sufficient funds to develop the property into a teaching farm.

One big thing to remember is that you have to incorporate your cost of benefits into your rate.

And document the crap out of *everything*.

Don't let yourself get on the hook for work that isn't in the original agreement. Don't let yourself get on the hook for work that isn't in the original agreement. Don't let yourself get on the hook for work that isn't in the original agreement.

At least, not without an amendment to the agreement and additional fees, unless you are doing it as a "goodwill" gesture. But if you do that, make sure that it is understood to be exactly that.

Steve!:

"One big thing to remember is that you have to incorporate your cost of benefits into your rate."

I agree.

One structural-engineer that is drawing up a set of plans for me now, estimated the over-all job at one price. Then on the estimate he also included his hourly rates for any additional things not already discussed, that he may have to perform.

Gee, a simple concrete outer-wall foundation to support a steel building [40ft X 60ft] $3000. All because I dont want a concrete slab.

:-)