GreaseSpot Cafe

Question for RumRunner

Linda Z

I'm asking you because you seem qualified to answer.

I've been thinking ever since the US Airways flight had to ditch into the Hudson River, why hasn't someone come up with some sort of device that's mounted on these planes that would scare the birds away? Or have they, and it just isn't effective? I wonder if there's a sound, or a pitch of sound that would frighten the bejeezus out of them and make them fly the other way instead of straight into the front of a jet engine.

I gather from the news reports that these occurrences are quite rare, but sheesh, if I were one of those people swimming around in the freezing cold river, I'd be wishing someone had invented such a thing.

Is it simply not practical? What do you think?

Thanks for asking - a couple of comments interspersed below - however understand I am an applied mathematician not a fluid dynamicist.

I'm asking you because you seem qualified to answer.

I've been thinking ever since the US Airways flight had to ditch into the Hudson River, why hasn't someone come up with some sort of device that's mounted on these planes that would scare the birds away? Or have they, and it just isn't effective? I wonder if there's a sound, or a pitch of sound that would frighten the bejeezus out of them and make them fly the other way instead of straight into the front of a jet engine.

That technology is already "in place." A lot of coastal airports, where sea birds are a major issue, use "cannons" (no actual projectiles) to scare the birds off. The problem with airports in general is that birds go deaf - sooner or later no sound is heard - no cannon - no jet engine - and in coastal areas the size of bird flocks tends to be much higher than inland areas - and of course - birds fly - as do planes - there have been ornithologists who have suggested that there may be a "mother" relationship between the bird and the plane - "big bird" as it were.