GreaseSpot Cafe

Can you really learn the piano with this?

mamcy11

It reminds me of a very old (but still relevant ) joke).

A man was in NYC to attend a concert. He lost his way and stopped a beatnik to ask directions.

Man: "Excuse me, Sir, how can I get to Carnegie Hall?"

Beatnik: "Practice, man, practice."

I don't play piano but I do play a couple of other instruments. Practice is the key to success. Developing muscle memory is a crucial part of the process. Practice can easily become tedious and demotivating. A lot of apps I've seen are meant to reduce the tedium and inject a dose of fun. They can be very valuable in that respect. I see them more as a way to augment more formalized instruction. Well, that's just my opinion. Take it with a grain of salt.

Hi mamcy11, welcome to Grease Spot !

I don’t play the piano and have never used any apps for lessons. But might be some good stuff there. I’m self-taught on bass, guitar, and drums. Back in the early 60s I did what a lot of my friends did – we’d decide on an instrument and start playing along with our favorite records. I have to agree with Waysider on things like those apps – being a way to augment or supplement formal instructions.

Over the years I have taken lessons from time to time but also playing in a lot of bands doesn’t hurt either - you get to glean so much from your band mates. There's something to be said for teachers and fellow musicians - constructive criticism, feedback (not from the amp though :rolleyes: ) and praise when you're on to something; people can point out your weaknesses AND strengths and provide options and direction too.

Now music is just a hobby for me – but I still like to learn new things and review the basics. the other day I was checking out some You Tubes and found 5 tips to make you a better bass player by Yonit Spiegelman. Some good stuff there!