GreaseSpot Cafe

Grad Sues College

Shellon

Does this shi+ really work, dang ! I want my $50 grand back please and thank you.

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,536175,00.html?mrp

The young lady hasn't been able to secure employment since she received her degree and it doesn't specify enough for me but it sounds like perhaps the institution from which she graduated offers employment assistance.

A few thoughts come to my punkin.

The school from which I got my degree in Human Service also offers employment assistance, for life, in fact. However the former student has to do a few things him/herself. Stuff like turn nothing down that the Career Assistance Office suggests; minimally don't say anything resembling "ewww, I don't like that one" or flat not show up for the interview. Can I really call my school's office and say, as a potential new employee, something silly like "can you find me the 150,000 a year job with a company car, stupidly wonderful expense account, full benefits and oh, I want the bosses office, otherwise, don't even tell me about the damn thing". Oh wait, if they don't comply, I'll sue em, yeah, that's what I'll do.

Like any business, there is going to be a feel for which clients, customers, contacts and/or college grad(s) are really going to utilize the services offered and I'm sure if the nice lady at Baker College understood that I want a job but might not really show up, she'll be less willing to assist me, less willing to risk her reputation with the local employers she's established a relationship with and for cryin' out loud, I can't sue her or the college when I'm not a good fit for the employment or they hire someone who is more experienced, better qualified or nails the interview in ways that assures the HR department of that good fit.

We have become much too litigious in our society, if ya ask me and I realize you did not.

• Upvote 1

This made the news because it is ridiculas.