GreaseSpot Cafe

Bed Bugs

Mister P-Mosh

As some of you may know, I am a contract computer programmer, meaning I travel all over the place and do work for a few months while staying in a hotel, and then move on to the next contract.

Anyway, I was staying in an Extended Stay for a week on my current contract, and discovered that there were bed bugs. In fact, the manager of the hotel moved us to a new room where we found bedbugs as well so we checked out of the hotel altogether.

We washed all of our clothes, went through all of our luggage, and washed the dog before going to the new place. However, by then it was too late. I am covered with a multitude of bites from the bed bugs. They feel like a mix between a bad mosquito bite and a papercut. I have hundreds of them from my neck down to my toes, and it's miserable. My wife is perfectly fine.

I'm wondering if any of you know of a good way to treat bed bug bites. I bought some ointment from the drug store that helps some, but it doesn't get rid of the itching/pain. If there is anything out there that is good for this I'd appreciate hearing what it is.

Another thing that I'd like to consider is to see what legal recourse I may have against the hotel. I believe that they knew of the bed bugs in our room before we went there, based on how weird the manager was acting and the way that the manager informed us of them. I really don't want to sue them or anything, but I am not happy with them and I think the company should feel as miserable as I am right now.

P-mosh,

That's disgusting. Care to tell us just which "Extended Stay (America?)" you were at?

That's certainly one I'd like to avoid for perpetuity.

I remember checking into a "Six" motel in Rapid City, S.D. and trying to take a shower, but the hot water never came on. I called the manager, and he informed me that, yes, the water heater was broken - and had been for several days (and this was in March, still a little nippy out).