GreaseSpot Cafe

Archaeology Class

Right now, I'm finishing up a class I was working on before I was hospitalized last year. I've always enjoyed archaeology since I took an undergraduate course in it forty-some-odd years ago. My professor back then was Dr. Jeeninga (HE really WAS a doctor, and earned the respect he received) who founded archaeological studies at this school. It feels funny to be answering a question and to write, "Well, Dr. Jeeninga always told us..." to the young guy teaching the class. My memory of Dr. Jeeninga and the respect that he earned are the genuine items, of which the false persona Wierwille projected was a cheesy counterfiet!

Coming back to a formal study of archaeology after all these years of observing it as an amateur, I find my view of the beginnings of the Bible to be vastly different from what they formerly were. The Bible was NOT written from scratch, neither was it written in a vaccuum. These are my best guesses at present: The Pentateuch was put into written form at Jerusalem during the reign of Solomon. There were many, MANY oral songs, stories, etc., in circulation about the origins of the community, and there were regional variations, as well. Solomon, or someone very close under him, set a task for the scribes at Solomon's scriptorium to collect, redact and correct the oral stories, and then to write them down. I think there were also a very few written documents that were used as sources. I think that's how Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus and Numbers came together. Sometimes I wonder about Deuteronomy...

At the time of Solomon, Jerusalem was NOT a cornfield in rural Ohio. I think the scholars at Solomon's scriptorium were a fairly cosmopolitan lot, familiar with the thought life of points east and west, Egypt and Mesopotamia. I think the first few books of the Bible were put together in some degree of conversation with the literature of the surrounding cultures.