GreaseSpot Cafe

cleaning tips and shortcuts.... i want them ALL

excathedra

please don't move this out of the booths up front !!!!!!

i'm supposed to be cleaning now (before i decorate) but i'd rather talk about it

damiegotout icon_wink.gif;)--> when i do windows and mirrors, i need tips on no streaks and how to clean fast, ok ?

kryssie, the best thing i've gotten since my son is my dyson animal (thank you zixar and dottie), but it's too heavy for you

i used to be so clean but now with these dogs and bird and kid and my unrenewed mind, i just don't know

i want to know cleaning tips to make my life easier !!!!

well what do you think ? or don't you care ?

mwah

I used to clean houses for a living (see the chapter of my life titled, "Young & Stupid & In The Way!") I had a partner and we could knock out a 2 bedroom/1.5 bathroom home in an hour. The method we used was from a study done at Harvard - it's quick, uses very little water, and is low-cost in supplies. I still try to use this method as much as possible.

(1) Leave all the organization up to the resident of the home. Since you're the resident - Clear up the clutter first or leave it and clean around it. Don't confuse cleaning with organizing. Do them separately or you'll never finish both at the same time.

(2) Simplify your cleaning supplies. You really only need: (a) a good grease cutter/all purpose cleaner (no bleach!) in a squirt bottle concentrated - then slightly diluted in a spray bottle; (b) a good window cleaner in a spray bottle; © a feather duster; (d) a dozen cotton diapers in a plastic gracery bag and a second empty plastic bag for the dirty cleaning rags, later; (e) lemon oil for fine furniture; (f) a vacuume; (g) a string mop & bucket - the smaller the string count, the better it will be for cleaning; (h) a green scrub pad; (i) a broom & dust pan. Put the supplies in one of those Rubbermaid totes with a handle.