GreaseSpot Cafe

Suing ministers for sexual assault

JustThinking

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Just thinking:

We had a local case, I dont remember all the details.(It was in the papers and I dont even remember the names) I thought however that the Pastor was charged criminally and the church and pastor sued civily. When a Pastor (or one in authority in a religious organization) seduces someone he is coounseling or one that he has control over through preaching, my gut feeling is that it may reach (or possibly could) reach to a criminal degree.

I am not a lawyer. Certainly if someone has been effected in this way they need to seek a district attorney's advice.

You would think if there is precedent in churches, (where people can roam from one church to another), that in an org like TWI, (where movement was restricted due to doctrinal differences with churches), that the influence of people in TWI would be scrutinzed legally far greater. (This is my opinion tho, I am no lawyer)

quote:
Since clergy have a responsibility to set and maintain appropriate boundaries, those who are violated by clergy's inappropriate sexual behavior are not to be blamed even if they initiated the contact.
Rev. Patricia Liberty

I disagree with the above statement. Since a minister is blameable for participating in inappropriate sexual behavior, a participant also is blameable for participation, most especially for initiating it.

Rev. Liberty is supposed to speak for and be a representative of God. Ok, where does it say in the bible that folks who initiate inappropriate sexual contact should be given a free pass?

OM,