GreaseSpot Cafe

Developing a Voice

Ham

When I was a teacher (2003-2008) I taught humane letters at a classical academy. The students had to write and defend a thesis as part of their senior year. We never told the students this, but one of our objectives of the thesis project was that each student should find her or his voice... that is she or he should be able to confidently participate the Great Conversation.

Everything in TWI was geared toward suppressing voice among the followers. Every one was to thoughtlessly parrot PFAL and the dictates of Wierwille in every circumstance.

Love,

Steve

• Upvote 1

Everything in TWI was geared toward suppressing voice among the followers.

Everything in TWI was geared towards one man. Then another man. Now a woman. And they have tolerated progressively less of a voice from their followers. And more and more micromanagement.

They miss the point of Christianity. God doesn't want little robot slave laborers parroting his every word. He wants children who love him and each other.

Everything in TWI was geared towards one man. Then another man. Now a woman. And they have tolerated progressively less of a voice from their followers. And more and more micromanagement.

They miss the point of Christianity. God doesn't want little robot slave laborers parroting his every word. He wants children who love him and each other.

It's obvious from here,

but it's easy to miss the point of Christianity when your group isn't REALLY about Christianity.

From the beginning, and FROM HIS OWN ACCOUNTS,

vpw never got into preaching because he believed the Bible.

He wanted a profession, and his own accounts said that he wanted everyone to listen to him.

So, Christianity and the Bible were only MEANS to and END.

It was about making a living and attention shown to him.

It's easy to dismiss JESUS in a twi-centric theology because HE'S a means to and end, too.