GreaseSpot Cafe

A Question About Christian Values

Tom

Here’s a thought provoking story – at least for me it was. It reads like a parable, but it is a true story that happened to me this week.

A neighbor, Billy, was walking by while I was working in the front of my house, & he stopped to chat for a while. He’s rather shy because he had an operation when he was young in which, as he describes it, a slice of his head was taken off, and he speaks with a slur. He can’t work a job (although, he is always working his butt off around his house), and he can’t read very well.

Yet, he is very in tune with the things that are going on among the people in the neighborhood, he is good with numbers & their significance, and he readily sees mechanical problems and their solutions.

He was explaining all this to me, he said, because he knew I am a teacher, and he thought I might understand. He felt that his inability to read was because of the operation that he had, & that he was missing some part of his brain that was essential to reading function. Also teachers didn’t seem to spend a lot of time with his reading problems. It seemed to him that they just knew that he didn’t have the ability, so they didn’t try.

I told him that the decoding abilities that he applies to what’s going on with the interactions of people in the neighborhood (IMO, one of the highest of mental functions), the significance of numbers, and mechanical problems are all the same mental functions that are applied in decoding words on a page.